Defeating your greatest enemy – yourself!

by Dr Richard Freeman

Vitae has published an interesting PDF on self-sabotage:

http://www.vitae.ac.uk/CMS/files/upload/Vitae-PGR-Tips-on-defeating-self-sabotage-2013.pdf

Doing a doctorate is seen primarily as an intellectual challenge – am I smart enough? – but actually the most difficult aspect is surviving to the end, steadily working away at producing the thesis. Looking back on my PhD I was always very busy, but I certainly wasn’t always productive. In fact, sometimes my behaviour was actually stopping me from getting the important things done. For example, it’s very easy to spend huge amounts of time carefully crafting emails (as I used to do), but it’s striking how quickly you can write them when you don’t have a moment to spare!

Efficient emailing is a skill that can save you a lot of time

Emails can take a long time to write – or very little!

